In March 2019, Governor Ron DeSantis signed legislation repealing a ban
on smokable cannabis in Florida.
Medical marijuana patients can now obtain 2.5 ounces of flower-based cannabis
every 35 days. Patients younger than 18 years of age are allowed to smoke
medicinal pot if they have a terminal condition and get a pediatrician’s
Back in 2016, over 70 percent of state voters approved a constitutional
amendment that would legalize medical marijuana. However, then-Gov. Rick
Scott signed it into law, he banned cannabis smoking in all forms.
When Gov. DeSantis took office in January 2019, he requested Florida lawmakers
to bring a bill that would legalize medical marijuana by March 15 to his
desk. Republican State Sen. Jeff Brandes and Democrat Linda Stewart co-sponsored
There are now 34 states that allow medicinal use of cannabis, while ten
states have legalized recreational use. Florida residents and lawmakers
alike anticipate legalizing recreational pot will be on the ballot in
If you are in possession of fewer than 20 grams of marijuana without a
prescription from a licensed physician, it is considered a misdemeanor
offense that carries a maximum one-year jail term and a fine no more than
$1,000. Possession of more than that amount of cannabis can result in
If you have been arrested for
drug possession in St. Augustine, FL,
contact Albaugh Law Firm and schedule a free case evaluation today.