Are you facing
driving under the influence (DUI) charges for the first time under
Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes? If so, you probably have a lot of questions going
through your mind right about now. “Will I go to jail? Will I pay
fines? Will I lose my driver’s license? Will I have to do community
service? Will I get a criminal record if I’m convicted?” These
are all valid questions indeed and you deserve answers!
As in all states, in Florida, it’s against the law to drive while
under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances (prescription drugs
and illegal drugs), and chemical substances. Even though it’s an
automatic DUI if a driver’s blood or breath alcohol level (BAL)
is .08 or above, in reality, a driver can get charged with DUI with an
even lower BAL. All that matters is that the state can prove that the
driver’s ability to drive safely was impaired by alcohol consumption.
First DUI Penalties
- A fine between $500 and $1,000
- If the BAL was .15 or higher or if there was a minor in the car at the
time of the DUI arrest, a fine between $1,000 and $2,000
- Up to six months in jail or up to nine months with a BAL of .15 or higher
- Vehicle impoundment for 10 days unless the family has no other mode of
- Between 180 days and one-year license revocation with no bodily injuries
- Minimum of three year license revocation with bodily injuries
- Must complete DUI school in order to apply for a hardship reinstatement
of driver license
- With a BAL of .15 or higher, mandatory ignition interlock device (IID)
Facing DUI Charges?
If you’re facing DUI charges, it’s important to secure a hard-hitting
defense. A conviction for DUI involves a permanent criminal record, which
can affect employment, housing, educational, and licensing opportunities
for years to come. To get started defending your legal rights,
contact Albaugh Law Firm today.