First-Time DUI Charges in St. Augustine
Get Over 70 years' Combined Experience by Your Side
Searching for an attorney in St. Augustine to defend your first-time
DUI case? At Albaugh Law Firm, our legal team has over
70 years of collective experience to offer you. Not only is our founding attorney a
former prosecutor, we have handled
thousands of cases in St. Augustine and Jacksonville.
What sets our firm apart from the rest?
- The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 Trial Lawyers
- Recipient of Avvo Clients' Choice Award
- We offer FREE initial case evaluations
- We offer evening and weekend appointments
- Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- Rated 9.2 "Superb" by Avvo
Case Results &
Client Testimonial pages!
Florida Penalties for a First-Time DUI
Driving under the influence is criminalized under §316.193 of the
Florida Statutes. Under this section, it is unlawful to drive or be in
"actual physical control" of a vehicle with a blood alcohol
concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater.
It is also unlawful to drive while one's normal faculties are impaired
by alcohol, a controlled substance, or a chemical substance, and this
includes lawfully prescribed prescription medications or over-the-counter
cold or allergy medicines.
Penalties for a First-Time DUI
- Between $500 and $2,000 in fines
- Up to one year license revocation
- 50 hours of mandatory community service
- Up to 9 months in jail
- 10 day vehicle impoundment
- May be ordered to install ignition interlock device
- DUI school (for hardship reinstatement)
A first-time drinking and driving conviction in Florida will usually result
in up to six months in jail in the absence of any aggravating circumstances.
If the driver's BAC was .15% or greater, or if there was a minor in
the vehicle, the driver can be sentenced up to nine months in jail.
Florida DUIs are usually prosecuted as misdemeanors, unless this is your
third DUI in the past 10 years (third degree felony), or if this is your
fourth or subsequent offense regardless of when the convictions occurred.
If the accident caused serious bodily injuries or death of another person,
you could be charged with a first, second, or third degree felony depending
on the facts of the case. But even if this is your first time being arrested, the
costs of a DUI should not be underestimated.
Contact Albaugh Law Firm today!
At Albaugh Law Firm, our St. Augustine DUI lawyers have extensive experience
defending clients facing first-time and multiple DUI charges. We know which
DUI defense strategies work, and which ones don't work.
Regardless of the circumstances of your case, we will work relentlessly
to fight your charges. By hiring our firm, you are immediately
leveling the playing field and giving yourself the greatest opportunity for success.