Request My Consultation

How Can We Help?

Tell us about your case

Send My Info
  • National Association of Trail Lawyers Top 100
  • Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • The Florida State Bar
  • The Florida Bar Family Law Section
  • The United States District Court
  • Avvo Top Attorney General Practice
  • Yelp 5 Stars
  • Google 5 Stars

Sex Offender Registry Requirements for Out-of-State Individuals

Posted By Ryan Albaugh || 14-May-2019

In Florida, many sex crime offenses require that a convicted individual register for life on the National Sex Offender Registry. The registration requirements apply to current residents and out-of-state visitors.

Under Statute 943.0435, anyone required to register as a sex offender in another state who plans to reside in Florida on a permanent, temporary, or transient basis must report to the sheriff’s office to register in Florida as well.

Residency Definitions

As defined by the law, temporary residency includes any travel to Florida for vacation, business, school, or work for a period of at least 3 days. The length of stay is not calculated consecutively, but rather as an aggregate of the number of days a person will be in the state. Whether the individual stays from Monday to Thursday of a given week or they are in Florida for 1 day in May and 2 days in June, they are considered to have temporary residence and must register as a sex offender.

Transient residence is defined as living in the state for 3 or more days. As with temporary residence, the number of days is not calculated consecutively but in total throughout the year. A person is considered to have transient residency if they sleep or seek shelter in a place that is not their permanent or temporary address.

Registration Requirements

Upon taking up any residency in Florida, the individual must provide the sheriff’s office with their personal information, including:

  • Name
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security number
  • Race
  • Sex
  • Height
  • Weight
  • Address, including transient information
  • Vehicle information
  • Phone numbers
  • Conviction information

Potential Penalties for Not Registering

If an out-of-state visitor or resident fails to register as a sex offender, they will be charged with a third-degree felony, which could result in a penalty of up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

Choose Albaugh Law Firm for Legal Representation – Your Initial Consultation Is Free

Our attorneys at Albaugh Law Firm are dedicated to protecting the rights of individuals facing criminal charges. If you were accused of a sex offense, we will provide the legal help you need to fight the allegations made against you.

To discuss your case with one of our skilled attorneys, call us at (904) 637-1839 or contact us online.