First DUI Penalties in Florida
Are you facing driving under the influence (DUI) charges for the first time under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes? If so, you probably have a lot of questions going through your mind right about now. “Will I go to jail? Will I pay fines? Will I lose my driver’s license? Will I have to do community service? Will I get a criminal record if I’m convicted?” These are all valid questions indeed and you deserve answers!
As in all states, in Florida, it’s against the law to drive while under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances (prescription drugs and illegal drugs), and chemical substances. Even though it’s an automatic DUI if a driver’s blood or breath alcohol level (BAL) is .08 or above, in reality, a driver can get charged with DUI with an even lower BAL. All that matters is that the state can prove that the driver’s ability to drive safely was impaired by alcohol consumption.
First DUI Penalties
- A fine between $500 and $1,000
- If the BAL was .15 or higher or if there was a minor in the car at the time of the DUI arrest, a fine between $1,000 and $2,000
- Up to six months in jail or up to nine months with a BAL of .15 or higher
- Vehicle impoundment for 10 days unless the family has no other mode of transportation
- Between 180 days and one-year license revocation with no bodily injuries
- Minimum of three year license revocation with bodily injuries
- Must complete DUI school in order to apply for a hardship reinstatement of driver license
- With a BAL of .15 or higher, mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) requirement
Facing DUI Charges?
If you’re facing DUI charges, it’s important to secure a hard-hitting defense. A conviction for DUI involves a permanent criminal record, which can affect employment, housing, educational, and licensing opportunities for years to come. To get started defending your legal rights, contact Albaugh Law Firm today.