Smoking Medical Marijuana is Now Legal in Florida
In March 2019, Governor Ron DeSantis signed legislation repealing a ban on smokable cannabis in Florida.
Medical marijuana patients can now obtain 2.5 ounces of flower-based cannabis every 35 days. Patients younger than 18 years of age are allowed to smoke medicinal pot if they have a terminal condition and get a pediatrician’s second opinion.
Back in 2016, over 70 percent of state voters approved a constitutional amendment that would legalize medical marijuana. However, then-Gov. Rick Scott signed it into law, he banned cannabis smoking in all forms.
When Gov. DeSantis took office in January 2019, he requested Florida lawmakers to bring a bill that would legalize medical marijuana by March 15 to his desk. Republican State Sen. Jeff Brandes and Democrat Linda Stewart co-sponsored the legislation.
There are now 34 states that allow medicinal use of cannabis, while ten states have legalized recreational use. Florida residents and lawmakers alike anticipate legalizing recreational pot will be on the ballot in upcoming elections.
If you are in possession of fewer than 20 grams of marijuana without a prescription from a licensed physician, it is considered a misdemeanor offense that carries a maximum one-year jail term and a fine no more than $1,000. Possession of more than that amount of cannabis can result in felony charges.
If you have been arrested for drug possession in St. Augustine, FL, contact Albaugh Law Firm and schedule a free case evaluation today.