Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
+

Florida Penalties for DUI

shutterstock_170725508According to Florida law, DUI is a criminal offense that is proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or above.

The following are the potential DUI offenses according to the number of convictions:

  • First DUI Offense
    • Maximum jail sentence of six months
    • Fine between $500 and $1,000, if BAC is .08 or above
    • Fine between $1,000 and $2,000, if BAC is .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle
    • Probation of up to one year
    • Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 per hour of community service required
    • Driver’s license revocation between 180 days and one year
  • Second DUI Offense
    • Maximum jail sentence of nine months, if BAC is .08 or above
    • Maximum jail sentence of 12 months, if BAC is .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle
    • Fine between $1,000 and $2,000, if BAC is .08 or above
    • Fine between $2,000 and $4,000, if BAC is .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle
    • Driver’s license revocation of up to five years
  • Third DUI Offense
    • If third conviction within 10 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days
    • If third conviction more than 10 years, imprisonment for up to 12 months
    • Fine between $2,000 and $5,000, if third conviction more than 10 years
    • Fine of not less than $4,000, if BAC is .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle
    • Driver’s license revocation of up to 10 years
  • Fourth or Subsequent DUI Offense
    • Maximum prison sentence of five years
    • Fine of not less than $2,000
    • Mandatory permanent revocation

If you were recently arrested and charged with a DUI, contact our St. Augustine criminal defense attorney at Albaugh Law Firm today.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2020 Albaugh Law Firm. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.