Guidelines for Concealed Carry Laws in Jacksonville, Florida
Florida gun owners who wish to exercise their right to carry a concealed weapon in Jacksonville need to know the law.
What Is Florida’s Concealed Carry Law?
Concealed carry is a term that applies to carrying a firearm on one’s person in public in such a way that it is hidden from view. Concealed carry is legal in Jacksonville and throughout the state of Florida as long as the gun owner has a valid concealed carry license and follows certain restrictions on where the firearm can be carried and how it can be legally transported.
How to Get a Concealed Carry License.
In order to legally carry a concealed firearm in Jacksonville, gun owners must apply for an official concealed weapon license. In order to be eligible, the gun owner must be at least 21 years old and a U.S. resident. Residents can apply in-person at either a regional office of the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services or the tax collector’s office. The application will be approved or denied within 90 days from the date of completion.
What Could Prevent You From Getting a Concealed Carry Permit?
In the state of Florida, you must be at least 21 years of age, and a legal citizen of the United States, in order to carry a firearm, concealed or otherwise. Aside from age and citizenship, there are several other circumstances that could prevent you from obtaining a concealed carry permit in Duval County. These factors include:
- If you’ve ever been convicted of a felony
- If you’ve been charged with certain domestic violence or drug/alcohol-related offenses
- If you’re currently facing criminal charges, or have an injunction for protection currently filed against you
- History of mental illness, or if you’ve been committed to a mental institution
- Physical disabilities that may prevent you from safely operating a firearm
- If you have not undergone the proper safety training for handling a firearm
If you are not eligible for a concealed carry permit due to a prior convinction, please contact our office to to learn more about sealing or expunging your criminal record.
How to Avoid Concealed Carry Penalties
Florida has strict laws on carrying a concealed weapon and concealed carry penalties are severe. If a gun owner carries a concealed weapon without a license, they are guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor which can result in up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine. The severity of the penalty increases if the weapon is unlicensed.
Once a Florida gun owner has a concealed carry license, there are still restrictions on where they can legally carry their weapon. Although this list is not exhaustive, some common areas where carrying a firearm is not permitted are schools, courthouses, airports, establishments that serve alcohol, and polling places. During transport, handguns must be kept securely encased, while long guns used for legal purposes such as hunting can be visible inside a vehicle.
By following these simple guidelines, gun owners in Jacksonville can be confident that they are exercising their right to concealed carry in a safe way while avoiding potential concealed carry penalties.
If you or a friend or family member has been arrested for violation of any firearm or other weapon related law, contact the experienced former prosecutors at the Albaugh Law Firm for a free consultation.